The Selfish Giant

Showtimes

Film runs Fri, Dec 20 through Thu, Dec 26.

Fri, Dec 20

12:00pm

Fri, Dec 20

2:10pm

Fri, Dec 20

4:20pm

Fri, Dec 20

6:45pm

Fri, Dec 20

9:00pm

Sat, Dec 21

12:00pm

Sat, Dec 21

2:10pm

Sat, Dec 21

4:20pm

Sat, Dec 21

6:45pm

Sat, Dec 21

9:00pm

Sun, Dec 22

12:00pm

Sun, Dec 22

2:10pm

Sun, Dec 22

4:20pm

Sun, Dec 22

6:45pm

Sun, Dec 22

9:00pm

Mon, Dec 23

12:00pm

Mon, Dec 23

2:10pm

Mon, Dec 23

4:20pm

Mon, Dec 23

6:45pm

Mon, Dec 23

9:00pm

Tue, Dec 24

12:00pm

Tue, Dec 24

2:10pm

Tue, Dec 24

4:20pm

Tue, Dec 24

6:45pm

Tue, Dec 24

9:00pm

Wed, Dec 25

12:00pm

Wed, Dec 25

2:10pm

Wed, Dec 25

4:20pm

Wed, Dec 25

6:45pm

Wed, Dec 25

9:00pm

Thu, Dec 26

12:00pm

Thu, Dec 26

2:10pm

Thu, Dec 26

4:20pm

Thu, Dec 26

6:45pm

Thu, Dec 26

9:00pm

Fri, Dec 27

12:00pm

Fri, Dec 27

4:30pm

Sat, Dec 28

12:00pm

Sat, Dec 28

4:30pm

Sun, Dec 29

12:00pm

Sun, Dec 29

4:30pm

Mon, Dec 30

12:00pm

Mon, Dec 30

4:30pm

Tue, Dec 31

12:00pm

Tue, Dec 31

4:30pm

Wed, Jan 1

12:00pm

Wed, Jan 1

4:30pm

Thu, Jan 2

12:00pm

Thu, Jan 2

4:30pm

The Selfish Giant
Clio Barnard, 2013
UK | Format: DCP | 91 minutes

Opens December 20!

The Selfish Giant is a contemporary fable about 13 year old Arbor (Conner Chapman) and his best friend Swifty (Shaun Thomas). Excluded from school and outsiders in their own neighborhood, the two boys meet Kitten (Sean Gilder), a local scrapdealer—the Selfish Giant. They begin collecting scrap metal for him using a horse and cart. Swifty has a natural gift with horses while Arbor emulates Kitten—keen to impress him and make some money. However, Kitten favors Swifty, leaving Arbor feeling hurt and excluded, driving a wedge between the boys. Arbor becomes increasingly greedy and exploitative, becoming more like Kitten. Tensions build, leading to a tragic event, which transforms them all.

Cannes Film Festival, 2013 – Director’s Fortnight
Toronto International Film Festival, 2013
AFI Fest, 2013 – Jury Prize, Best Director (New Auteurs)

“Deeply tender, one of the most touching movies about friendship I’ve ever seen.” —Stephanie Zacharek, Village Voice

“A powerful and moving contemporary fable…to be compared with the compassionate drama of Ken Loach at his very best.” —Mark Adams, Screen Daily

“Astonishing… boldly, broodingly cinematic.” —Guy Lodge, Variety

Venue: Elinor Bunin Munroe Film Center

Thank You to Our Sponsors

# Close