L.A. Film Critics Name Both ‘Her’ & ‘Gravity’ For Best Picture

Spike Jonze's Her.

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association gave their choices for the best of 2013, choosing two winners for some of its categories including Best Picture, which the group gave to both Alfonso Cuarón's Gavity and Spike Jonze's NYFF World Premiere Her. Cuarón was also named Best Director by the organization Sunday, which revealed its winners via Twitter. Richard Linklater, Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy took Best Screenplay, while Sarah Polley's Stories We Tell was the L.A. critics' choice for Best Documentary.

In other ties, NYFF honoree Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine) and Adèle Exarchopoulos (Blue Is the Warmest Color) were both named in the Best Actress category, while James Franco (Spring Breakers) and Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club) tied for Best Supporting Actor. Bruce Dern (Nebraska) received Best Actor and Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave
) took Best Supporting Actress.

Full list of L.A. Film Critics Association winners follow:

Best Picture (Tie) - Gravity and Her

Best Director - Alfonso Cuarón (Gravity)
Runner-up: Spike Jonze (Her)

Best Screenplay - Richard Linklater, Ethan Hawke, Julie Delpy (Before Midnight)
Runner-up: Spike Jonze (Her)

Best Actress (Tie) - Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine) and Adèle Exarchopoulos (Blue Is the Warmest Color)

Best Actor - Bruce Dern (Nebraska)
Runner-up: Chiwetel Ejiofor (12 Years A Slave)

Best Documentary - Stories We Tell (Sarah Polley)

Runner-up: The Act of Killing (Joshua Oppenheimer)

Best Music Score - T Bone Burnett (Inside Llewyn Davis)
Arcade Fire and Owen Pallett (Her)

Best Animation - Ernest & Celestine

Runner-up: The Wind Rises

Best Supporting Actor (Tied) - James Franco (Spring Breakers) and Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club

Best Cinematography -  Emmanuel Lubezki (Gravity) 

Runner-up, Bruno Delbonnel (Inside Llewyn Davis)

Best Editing - Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger (Gravity
Runner-up: Shane Carruth and David Lowery (Upstream Color)

Best Supporting Actress - Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave
Runner-up: June Squibb (Nebraska)

Best Production Design - K.K. Barrett (Her)

Runner-up: Jess Gonchor (Inside Llewyn Davis)

Douglas Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video Award: Cabinets Of Wonder: Films and a Performance by Charlotte Pryce

Thank You to Our Sponsors

Next Article x

NYFF’s ‘12 Years A Slave’ Top Choice Among Boston Film Critics image

NYFF’s ‘12 Years A Slave’ Top Choice Among Boston Film Critics

Steve McQueen's New York Film Festival feature 12 Years A Slave received multiple honors from the Boston Society of Film Critics Sunday naming the film its choice for Best Picture, Best Actor for Chiwetel Ejiofor and Best Director.

Read More »