SXSW Juries Give ‘Fort Tilden’ & ‘The Great Invisible’ Top Awards

Posted by Brian Brooks on 3.11.2014

Sarah-Violet Bliss and Charles Rogers's Fort Tilden

The core of the film festival portion of SXSW culminated Tuesday night with its awards. Sarah-Violet Bliss and Charles Rogers's Brooklyn comedy Fort Tilden won the SXSW Film Festival Grand Jury Prize, while Margaret Brown's The Great Invisible won the Documentary Grand Jury Prize.

Set in summer in Williamsburg with a journey to seaside Fort Tilden in New York, the film of the same name centers on two roommates who set out on a trouble-plagued journey to the beach, encountering theft and the fall-out of their own actions as they seek a pleasure-filled day with boys they met at a party the night before.

The Great Invisible takes a look back at the Deepwater Horizon disaster. The oil explosion that leaked millions of gallons of crude into the Gulf of Mexico, spurring an instant environmental, political and business crisis made nightly headlines. But the 11 workers who died and longterm impact of the spill has escaped headlines amidst continuing litigation and a masterful PR campaign.

SXSW also recognized Animals with its Special Jury Recognition for Courage in Storytelling award, while actors Natalie Tena and David Verdaguer won a special recognition for acting in 10,000KM (Long Distance).

SXSW's music portion is in full swing, while screenings continue through Saturday in Austin.

2013 SXSW Film Festival Feature Film Jury Awards

Narrative Feature Competition:

Grand Jury Winner: Fort Tilden - Directors: Sarah-Violet Bliss & Charles Rogers

Special Jury Recognition for Courage in Storytelling: Animals

Actor & Screenwriter: David Dastmalchian

Special Jury Recognition for Best Acting: Natalie Tena and David Verdaguer for 10,000KM (Long Distance)

Margaret Brown's The Great Invisible

Documentary Feature Competition:

Grand Jury Winner: The Great Invisible - Director: Margaret Brown

Special Jury Recognition for Political Courage: Vessel - Director: Diana Whitten

Special Jury Recognition for Editing & Storytelling: Print the Legend - Directors: Luis Lopez & Clay Tweel

Short Film Jury Awards:

Narrative Shorts
Winner: Quelqu’un d’extraordinaire - Director: Monia Chokri

Special Jury Recognition: Person to Person - Director: Dustin Guy Defa

Special Jury Recognition for Cinematography: Krisha - Director: Trey Edward Shults

Documentary Shorts
Winner: Kehinde Wiley: An Economy of Grace - Director: Jeff Dupre

Midnight Shorts
Winner: Wawd Ahp - Directors: Steve Girard & Josh Chertoff

Animated Shorts
Winner: Coda - Director: Alan Holly

Special Jury Recognition: Eager - Director: Allison Schulnik

Music Video
Winner: Joel Compass, “Back to Me” - Director: Ian and Cooper

blog comments powered by Disqus
Thank You to Our Sponsors